Home › Guides › The cost of a hair transplant in 2026
Guide · Step 3 of 5By Klineva · Updated on 5 October 2026 · 15 min read
You live in Geneva, Lausanne, Neuchâtel or Valais, and you are weighing a Swiss clinic against a stay in Istanbul. For the same number of grafts, an entry-level package in Istanbul comes out, before the flight, roughly 3 to 4 times cheaper than in Switzerland for 3,000 grafts. That calculation uses the middle Swiss price; depending on the Swiss clinic compared, Istanbul works out 2 to 8 times cheaper. The Swiss prices recorded in October 2026 range from CHF 5,700 to CHF 24,000 for 3,000 to 4,000 grafts. In Istanbul, the price is roughly CHF 2,200 to CHF 3,000, hotel and transfers included, flight extra. Here are the figures, what LAMal (Swiss compulsory health insurance) covers, the journey from Switzerland and how to compare two quotes.

There is no single price: Swiss clinics charge per graft or by package, in tiers. To compare, you have to fix the same number of grafts. In October 2026 we recorded the prices of five clinics in German-speaking Switzerland (Zurich, Aargau, Basel-Landschaft, Bern). We calculated the total for 3,000 and 4,000 grafts, two common volumes for a large area.
| Type of price recorded | 3,000 grafts | 4,000 grafts |
|---|---|---|
| Tiered packages (Zurich, Aargau) | CHF 5,700 to CHF 8,900 | CHF 10,000 to CHF 12,900 |
| Per graft, with a volume discount (Basel-Landschaft) | CHF 9,000 | CHF 12,000 |
| CHF 5 to CHF 6 per graft (Bern, Zurich) | CHF 15,000 to CHF 18,000 | CHF 20,000 to CHF 24,000 |
Public price pages of five Swiss clinics, accessed in October 2026. Per-graft totals calculated from the displayed price. In Basel-Landschaft, the price falls with volume (CHF 5 per graft for 500, CHF 3 from 2,000). The CHF 9,000 total is the example given by the clinic; the CHF 12,000 total is a calculation at the same rate. The CHF 12,900 package is carried out in two sessions; the technique is not specified everywhere.
For 3,000 grafts, the middle price among the five is CHF 9,000, that of the Basel-Landschaft clinic. Two clinics are cheaper, two are more expensive. The gap is wide: from CHF 5,700 to CHF 18,000, more than three times from one clinic to another. In addition, what the price includes (consultation, medication, tests, check-ups) is not detailed on every page.

In French-speaking Switzerland, clinics mostly display “from” prices, which do not always say for how many grafts. Here is what we recorded in October 2026 from three clinics in Geneva, Lausanne, Fribourg and Vevey.
| City | Price displayed | Quantity covered |
|---|---|---|
| Geneva | from CHF 1,900 | 200 to 500 grafts |
| Geneva (same clinic) | from CHF 4,400 | 800 to 1,500 grafts |
| Geneva (same clinic) | from CHF 8,500 | 2,000 grafts or more |
| Lausanne, Fribourg | FUT from CHF 3,000; FUE from CHF 9,000 | not specified |
| Lausanne, Vevey | CHF 7,900; CHF 10,000 | up to 2,900; up to 4,500 hairs |
Public price pages of three clinics, accessed in October 2026. The Lausanne and Vevey clinic counts in hairs, not grafts.
The trap is visible in Geneva: a “from CHF 1,900” price applies to 200 to 500 grafts. The rate reaches “from CHF 8,500” from 2,000. The technique matters too: on one French-speaking Swiss page, FUT (the strip method) is advertised from CHF 3,000 and FUE from CHF 9,000. Our guide FUT, FUE or DHI: which technique should you choose? explains the differences.
Two precautions. Check the unit: according to the professional society ISHRS, a graft generally contains one to four hairs. So 4,500 hairs represent far fewer than 4,500 grafts. And factor in the first consultation, which is sometimes charged: CHF 150, CHF 180 and CHF 200 on these three pages.
In Istanbul, clinics mainly sell packages: a single price for the procedure, the hotel and the transfers. In October 2026 we recorded the packages of three clinics and converted the amounts into Swiss francs. The last row is Klineva, an Istanbul clinic run by two French nationals, which publishes this guide.
| Price in Istanbul | In euros | In Swiss francs (approximately) |
|---|---|---|
| Entry-level packages (3 clinics) | €2,390 to €3,200 | CHF 2,200 to CHF 3,000 |
| Most comprehensive options | €5,790 to €8,000 | CHF 5,400 to CHF 7,400 |
| Our packages | under €3,000 | under CHF 2,800 |
Price pages accessed in October 2026, updated between August and October 2026; flight not included. Converted at the European Central Bank reference rate of 2 October 2026: €1 = CHF 0.9279.
Only one of the three pages gives a ceiling: the package covers up to 4,000 grafts. Another says that the price does not change with the number of grafts. It states that the doctor sets this number according to what the donor area, from which the grafts are harvested, can safely provide. The third says nothing about the number of grafts for this option. Ask for it in writing.
Our packages start under €3,000, within the range of the entry-level prices recorded. They include a 4★ hotel, transfers, an interpreter, PRP (platelet-rich plasma) and 18 months of follow-up. The exact price is given after a free diagnosis from photos.

The techniques and what makes the price vary are explained in our guide Hair transplant cost in Turkey: how much to budget for in 2026.
The first factor is the general price level. According to Eurostat, household consumption price levels are measured by an index that equals 100 for the European Union average. In 2025, that index stood at 171.3 in Switzerland, against 59.6 in Turkey. Swiss prices are therefore about 2.9 times higher than Turkish prices. A clinic’s rent and salaries partly follow this general level. Two other factors come into play:
The gap in price level is narrowing, however. Turkey’s index rose from 41.1 in 2022 to 59.6 in 2025, while Switzerland’s stayed around 171. The ratio has thus come down from 4.2 times to 2.9 times.
The strong franc, for its part, works in your favour. According to the European Central Bank, one euro was worth CHF 0.9279 on 2 October 2026, or about CHF 2,780 for €3,000. As the packages are displayed in euros, the total in francs follows the day’s exchange rate. The rate went from 0.9478 on 30 September to 0.9279 on 2 October 2026, a difference of about CHF 60 on €3,000.
As a general rule, no, neither in Switzerland nor in Istanbul. LAMal is the compulsory health care insurance. According to the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), it covers care in the event of illness, maternity and accident. Comparis points out that it reimburses cosmetic surgery only when it is medically necessary, for example breast reconstruction after cancer. Several Swiss clinics also write that the health insurer does not generally cover a hair transplant.

Supplementary insurance is not compulsory: according to Priminfo, each health insurer decides for itself which benefits it offers. According to Comparis, some insurers offer supplementary cover for cosmetic procedures. It covers part of the costs, subject to conditions and sometimes after a qualifying period, that is, a waiting period. Only your insurer can tell you whether a hair transplant is covered: ask it for written confirmation before committing, in Switzerland as abroad.
For treatment in Istanbul, the rule is stricter still. The FOPH explains that, outside the EU/EFTA and the United Kingdom, basic insurance reimburses emergencies within certain limits. It states that “other medical services provided abroad are not generally covered”. Planned treatment abroad is reimbursed only in particular cases. The cases concerned are treatment that is unavailable in Switzerland or excessively long waiting times, on a reasoned request from the treating doctor. A hair transplant, which is available in Switzerland, does not on the face of it fall into these cases.
If your hair loss comes from an illness or a trauma, a Swiss clinic states that health insurance can sometimes step in. Talk to your doctor and your insurer before making any decision. In other cases, the transplant and the trip are at your own expense, in Zurich as in Istanbul.
According to Geneva Airport, the Geneva–Istanbul flight takes about 3 hours. Turkish Airlines flies to Istanbul Airport; Pegasus and AJet serve the city’s second airport, Sabiha Gökçen. From Zurich and Basel-Mulhouse, these airlines also appear among those listed by Zurich Airport and EuroAirport. A FlightsFrom listing shows direct flights of 3 hours to about 3 h 10 min.

No visa is needed for a stay of up to 90 days. According to the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs (undated pages, accessed 4 October 2026), holders of a Swiss passport do not need one. The ministry’s list of countries whose citizens may enter with their identity card also includes Switzerland. The Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) confirms this in its factsheet on entry into Turkey, published on 1 February 2026. The FDFA also points out that the rules can change at any time. Two options:
For the return flight, read our guide Travelling after a hair transplant: flying, luggage, getting home.
At Klineva (9,000 patients, 10 years of experience), you have an adviser before you leave, an interpreter on site, then 18 months of follow-up after you return. This follow-up is done remotely, from the photos you send to the team. The three-day programme is detailed in the guide The 3-day stay in Istanbul, step by step.
A low price is not suspicious in itself. The country’s general price level explains part of it, and price alone does not allow you to judge quality. A price far below the usual packages, on the other hand, calls for questions. For each quote, ask for the answers in writing:
Also remember to ask who will be operating on you. In Switzerland, the FOPH’s public MedReg register shows doctors’ diplomas, postgraduate qualifications and authorisation to practise. For Turkey, the FDFA recommends, in its travel advice (in French), that you discuss the procedure beforehand with a doctor in Switzerland (advice updated 22 June 2026). Our guide How to choose a clinic in Turkey gives the essential pointers.

Istanbul is not the right answer for everyone. A transplant in Switzerland keeps its advantages in several cases:
Conversely, Istanbul holds its own if you are aiming for 3,000 grafts or more and the budget matters. You also need to be comfortable with three days away from home. If discretion matters to you, a short stay followed by remote check-ups from photos avoids appointments at a practice in your own town. Check that the clinic really offers this follow-up.
In both cases, ask for two or three written quotes for the same number of grafts. Compare them using the list above and keep the price for last. To find out the price for your case in Istanbul, send your photos for a free diagnosis. Klineva will get back to you within 24 hours, and you will be able to place its proposal alongside your Swiss quotes.

real patients, with the number of grafts and the time elapsed since surgery
Leave us your number: an adviser will get back to you within 24 hours. We’ll ask for the photos for your diagnosis after this first conversation, by WhatsApp or email.
Yes, markedly. For the same number of grafts, an entry-level package in Istanbul works out roughly 3 to 4 times cheaper than the middle Swiss price for 3,000 grafts. Depending on the Swiss clinic compared, it works out 2 to 8 times cheaper (displayed prices, recorded in October 2026). The flight is extra.
As a general rule, no. Basic insurance reimburses cosmetic surgery only when it is medically necessary, and in principle not planned care abroad. For supplementary insurance, each insurer decides: ask yours for written confirmation before you commit.
No, not for a stay of up to 90 days. According to the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Swiss citizens can enter with a passport or with their identity card. The Turkish ministry advises a passport valid for at least 6 months from arrival; Klineva asks for the same validity for the passport and for the identity card. If you prefer the identity card, first check with your airline that it accepts it.
Yes, from Geneva, Zurich and Basel-Mulhouse. The flight takes about 3 hours. Turkish Airlines flies to Istanbul Airport, Pegasus and AJet to Sabiha Gökçen. Schedules change with the season.
Our stay lasts 3 days: welcome and transfer to the hotel on the first day, blood tests and the procedure on the second, first hair wash and post-transplant care on the third. Add the flight, about 3 hours from Switzerland.
The country alone is not enough to answer: what matters is who operates on you and what follow-up is planned. Before a procedure as part of a medical trip to Turkey, the FDFA recommends discussing it with a doctor in Switzerland. Ask the same questions in both countries.
Prices published by clinics in Switzerland and Turkey, recorded in October 2026. PRP session prices: four clinics in Geneva and Lausanne, recorded in October 2026.
step 3 of 5: the price of a hair transplant in 2026
Guide · Step 3Hair transplant cost in Turkey in 2026What a transplant costs, what the package includes, and how it compares with France.Read the guide
Guide · Step 3Hair transplant: prices in Quebec or Turkey?Prices for the same number of grafts, RAMQ, flights, visa and remote follow-up.Read the guide
Guide · Step 3Hair transplant: prices in Belgium or Turkey?Prices for the same number of grafts, health insurance fund (mutuelle), direct flights, visa and quotes to compare.Read the guideAn adviser will get back to you. We’ll ask for the photos for your diagnosis after this first conversation.
Your request has been sent. A Klineva adviser will get back to you within 24 hours.